The Plan and Zoning Commission is a seven (7) member body of citizens appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council, whose main task is to conduct thorough reviews of development proposals to ensure that the development proposals are consistent with the community’s established land use patterns and development standards. The Commission bases its reviews on the goals and policies of the City, as outlined in the Comprehensive Plan, Zoning Ordinance, and Subdivision Regulations. Upon completion of its review, the Commission makes a recommendation for approval, conditional approval or denial of the development proposal to the City Council, who has final decision-making authority.

The members of the West Des Moines Plan and Zoning Commission are:

Erica Andersen - Chairperson
Jennifer Drake
Chris Costa
Kevin J. Crowley
Andrew Conlin 
Scott Hatfield
Jill Southworth - Vice Chair

In addition to reviewing development proposals, the Plan and Zoning Commission also reviews proposed changes to the City's Comprehensive Plan and Zoning Ordinance and makes recommendations to the City Council.

2020 Approved Meeting Schedule

Citizen's Guide to the Plan and Zoning Commission

Plan and Zoning Commission Rules of Procedure

Plan and Zoning Commission Meeting Guide

Public Meeting Presentation Tips

Following the Plan and Zoning Commission meeting, the project will proceed to the City Council.  At the City Council meeting, you may be asked to present the project to the Council, if so, please follow the Public Meeting Presentation tips, above, and read the following guide:

City Council Meeting Guide