Plan and Zoning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Plan and Zoning Commission is a seven (7) member body of citizens appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council, whose main task is to conduct thorough reviews of development proposals to ensure that the development proposals are consistent with the community’s established land use patterns and development standards. The Commission bases its reviews on the goals and policies of the City, as outlined in the Comprehensive Plan, Zoning Ordinance, and Subdivision Regulations. Upon completion of its review, the Commission makes a recommendation for approval, conditional approval or denial of the development proposal to the City Council, who has final decision-making authority.

The members of the West Des Moines Plan and Zoning Commission are:

Erica Andersen - Chairperson
Jennifer Drake
Chris Costa
Kevin J. Crowley
Andrew Conlin
Scott Hatfield
Jill Southworth - Vice Chair

In addition to reviewing development proposals, the Plan and Zoning Commission also reviews proposed changes to the City's Comprehensive Plan and Zoning Ordinance and makes recommendations to the City Council.

Citizen's Guide to the Plan and Zoning Commission
Plan and Zoning Commission Rules of Procedure

2020 Meeting Schedule


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer

Plan and Zoning Commission

Return to full list >>