An intricate part of the Human Services organization is the 15 member Advisory Board, made up of citizens appointed by the Mayor with Council approval. These people are appointed for three-year terms and represent a diversified cross-section of citizens. The board establishes regulations, procedures and policies designed to effectively carry out the department's mission of "providing opportunities for individuals to improve and enhance the quality of life through the programs and services available with the goal of self-sufficiency.

The Board meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m., with no meeting in August or December. All of the Board members are committed to serve West Des Moines and the western suburbs by assuring services are provided to meet the basic needs of life for individuals that are low-income, elderly and/or disabled.

The Human Services Advisory Board members are:

  • Mary Bernabe                       
  • Janet Clary-Jones
  • Jo Helling   
  • Jessinda Madonia       
  • Matt McNeece       
  • Jim Miller       
  • Carol Sipfle
  • Jered Rogers
  • Rick Riley       
  • Jami Schnoebelen
  • Bill Solawetz
  • Mari Bunney    
  • Kasey Tickel   
  • Dan Werner
  • Sue Wright       
  • Council Member Russ Trimble 

Human Services Board meetings are open to the public. Meetings are held in the Human Services Building, 139 6th Street, West Des Moines, Iowa. Apply to be considered for future HS Board openings by downloading a PDF here.

Please call (515) 273-0633 with any questions about the Human Services Board.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer